Experience a guided tour of this early 19th century homestead once home to the Gage Family. The Gages worked the land with their ten children and became a strong voice in the hamlet of Stoney Creek. During the War of 1812, the family retreated to their cellar as the Battle of Stoney Creek raged outside. The 100-foot-high Battlefield Monument stands as a symbol of peace and commemorates those soldiers who died on June 6, 1813. Nestled under the scenic Niagara Escarpment, this historic site encompasses 32 acres of parkland divided by Battlefield Creek.
Battlefield House & Monument
Grandview (Nash-Jackson House)
The two-storey Georgian-style dwelling was completed in 1880 and was remodelled by five successive generations of the Nash family. In 1999, it was relocated to Battlefield Park and today houses a gift shop, exhibit gallery, and unique public rental space.
This local landmark was unveiled to an audience of 15,000 on the centennial of the Battle of Stoney Creek, June 6, 1913, by Queen Mary in London by means of a transatlantic telegraph cable. Designed by the architectural firm of F. J. Rastrick and Sons, the monument stands 100 feet tall to commemorate a century of peace between Britain and the United States. It was the brainchild of the Women's Wentworth Historical Society under the leadership of Sara Calder.
Re-enactment of the
Battle of Stoney Creek
Don't miss the Re-enactment of the Battle of Stoney Creek the first weekend of June - declared one of Ontario’s top 100 events by Festivals and Events Ontario! Mingle with early 19th century settlers and soldiers as they go about their daily life and witness historical demonstrations of cooking, dancing, blacksmithing and more.